The Spotty Sundress

wpid-20140712_192720.jpg  wpid-20140712_192747.jpg  wpid-20140712_192751.jpg
Up til July this year I’ve had various occasions to make dresses for. A Royal Salute at Edinburgh Castle, 3 weddings, hen do’s etc. Now though our social calendar is looking a little empty of fancy occasions so I was looking for an excuse to make something new.

Someone told me about the fabulous feature Make This Look on the Sew Weekly blog. The Boden Rivieria inspired dress caught my eye. Its July, everyone’s wearing lovely sundresses and that shape would really suit me. So I set to work.

Pattern: Simplicity 2886 2014-07-07 16.47.04Fabric: Navy blue with white spot from Green Circle Crafts on Ebay, lined with sky blue anti-static lining fabric (from the stash).

The pattern is largely stress free and fits me really really well. This is unusual – normally I have to shorten patterns in the bodice because I have a short torso – I’m very hourglass! This dress pattern fitted me straight off though.

The only trouble I really had was the lapped zip. I’ve never done one before and it showed. I think I unpicked it about 5 times. Serves me right for starting it at 9pm with a glass of wine! I also hemmed it quite a bit shorter. I like the dress to be on the knee or just above. So here it is – the finished product!

2014-07-11 17.06.39 2014-07-11 16.58.39

Leave a Reply

