Grace’s broderie anglaise dress

Grace was the first person I made a dress for that wasn’t myself. I made her a blue spotty dress last year for her birthday. I chose the pattern and she chose the fabric.

It was very nerve wracking making it for someone else. In fact I was so determined to get it right I spent an entire sunny day sat at my machine which pushed me into labour. Its okay though – I was 41 weeks pregnant and that baby NEEDED to come out!

So this years birthday dress was a far less fraught

Pattern: Simplicity 1927 view A
Fabric: pale yellow broderie anglaise with gold lining fabric for the bodice.
image

The pattern is for an unlined dress but because of all the holes in the fabric I decided to line the bodice.
image

Every thing was going swimmingly until I went to attach the straps. Irritatingly I should have fixed them to the bodice fabric before attaching the lining and upper band. It looks scruffy inside now so I hope Grace forgives me.
image

I decided the yellow needed perking up a bit so I used a contrast grey bias tape along the top band. This was only my second attempt at bias tape but I think it looks Ok.
image

So happy birthday Grace!

**update**

Grave loved the dress style, colour etc. Unfortunately it was massive on her round the ribs. I used the age 8 pattern and Grace is 9 now but she’s a slender tall girl. I’ve promised to take my pins round next week to adjust it so it fits.

Here’s a picture of her wearing it now – notice she can’t raise her hands without it falling down!
image

Leave a Reply

