A Berry Christmas (dress)

As with most sewers I wanted a new dress for Christmas but was running out of time. It is my works Christmas night out on Friday and I only had 2 evenings free to get this done. So I went to my old faithful pattern New look 6123. I think I have about 4 or 5 dresses from this pattern.

6123_env_front

I made a few changes – I lengthened it about 15cm so it sat below the knee. Sometimes I think a longer dress is a bit more ooh la la than a short dress.

I also added sleeves. I live in Scotland not the Costa brava. Why don’t more dresses come with sleeves!!!?

I ran out of time to go to a shop to buy fabric so panic bought online. BIG MISTAKE! It’s really far to thin and light weight this fabric for this to be a dress that will wear well. I fully expect this dress to lose its shape after every wear and need re washing.  Still its a loose jersey which will be forgiving when I’ve eaten too many spuds on Christmas day or had to play horses with my little girl for hours on end.

IMG_5342

Of course the comedy of going out with my folks from work is I’d look overdressed in a pair of jeans. They’re environmentalists. They’ve cultivated the look of hipsters cross Greenpeace activists. Still – I like to dress up and will continue to do so regardless of what the hipsters wear. Hurrah for dresses and heels!

IMG_5350 IMG_5347 IMG_5348

Another thing thats big for me – its purple!! I have owned exactly 1 item of clothing in the last 10 years that is purple. I tend to think purple makes blondes look washed out and horrible. Also I’m Scottish. Our natural skin colour is a hue of blue. In winter its a dark blue. In summer its a light blue. Purple and blue doesn’t tend to work. But somehow I quite like this colour and think its working ok for me.

2 thoughts on “A Berry Christmas (dress)

Leave a Reply

