Sewing Top 5 of 2015

Top 5 of 2015

Following the gauntlet thrown down once again by Gillian of Crafting a Rainbow I’m reflecting on my Top 5’s of 2015.

First up – the wins of 2015.

2015 has been a bit of a funny year in that I only really sewed up until June time. After June I got pregnant and then either felt:

  • too horrendous to sew or
  • too fat to sew for myself.

This means the year for me kind of stops in June. I’ve started feeling better in the last month but have been busy doing top secret sewing for Christmas. Therefore at least 2 items that I’m immensely proud of may have to remain secret for another 5 days

  1. Party time trews

This was my 3rd foray into trouser making and have been worn a lot. This was summer time when loud trousers were all the rage and I got lots of lovely compliments about these trousers. Even better they were in a stretch cotton which means as my waistband expanded so did the trousers – until I had to stop kidding myself and move to maternity wear.

IMG_6155

2. Simplicity Blogger Challenge

This is purely down to the fabric – I bought this fabric in Uganda at the beginning of the year at the top of a mountain in the middle of freaking no-where. I’ve had so many compliments on this jacket when I’ve worn it to work things. Because its a bit of a standout piece I think it helped me network at a recent conference and potentially get some new work. Result!

IMG_6323

3. Spot of therapy

This dress was a labour of love. As soon as I got the invite to Mill’s wedding I sketched a picture of what I wanted this dress to look like and it really lived up to my expectations. I got some lovely compliments from friends including ‘where did you buy that dress from’. As a home sewer that is the best compliment!

wpid-img-20150719-wa0001.jpg

4. Moose loose about this hoose

This was my first attempt at fancy dress for Mini Me and I was fully prepared for the rage that only a 2 year old can rain down on me when I finished it. Instead the little minx demanded to put it on before I’d even finished it. She’s since proudly worn it numerous of times including just to the shops for shits and giggles. My kind of girl!

wpid-img-20151027-wa0000.jpg

5. Christmas partaaaaay dress

My first attempt at a Made by Rae pattern and I’ve already made a 2nd dress from this pattern (a top secret Christmas make). Again fabric choice was key here which is making it very wearable up until 25th December. Of course Mini Me may still decide to wear this in May which hopefully no one will mind??

IMG_7163

15 thoughts on “Sewing Top 5 of 2015

  1. Hi Lesley, your top five are all lovely! But on having a nosy at your other posts I love your description of the trousers that didn’t fit! Fury is what I would have felt after a promise of the perfect fit!! Anyway trousers are the hardest of all the things to make and a slight angle change in the crutch can make a huge difference to the shape! If you have a well fitting favourite pair of trousers, I’ve found these are the best starting point for you to draft your own or adjust a bought pattern. I think you’re going to be so busy, and tired soon that this will be the last thing on your mind!! Enjoy!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

