Ubiquitous Disney Princess costume 

So it’s been almost a year since Mini Me liked anything I made for her. As a result I’ve largely given up making her things. Until now!

So she’s a typical 3 year old – bloody minded and determined to do things her own way. She’s got a very certain dress sense as well.

A few months ago she wore her Doctors scrubs every single day for a month  (I steal her clothes at night to wash them). She’s now going through a Princess phase and has worn this awful pink (3rd hand) polyester princess dress for about a month now. So we needed something for her to wear when the Princess dress was being washed.

Elsa to the rescue!

What does a £3 bridesmaid dress from a charity shop and a £10 Ikea net curtain have in common? They work flipping fantastic together as a Elsa dress.

This dress is dead easy to put together. I followed my own path a little bit with the cape at the back so Mini Me can get it on and off herself. Instead of having it loose I tucked it into the zip so it won’t get caught as she tries to put it on and off. If I make this again I’ll make the cape separately so it can be a sleeveless dress as it might be more practical for Mini Me when playing.

The pattern cost £8 and in my mind is pretty good value because I can also make Anna’s dress and probably make a whole stash of Disney Princess dresses using this as a basis. Personally I prefer Anna to Elsa but what do I know!

So here we go – not the best photos but check out the size of her smile!

Join me people…….Let it Go, Let it Go, Can’t hold it back anymore!

10 thoughts on “Ubiquitous Disney Princess costume 

Leave a Reply

